Lady Like

The sun had gone down so soon,

That it was already the time for moon,

I had to be at home,

But my heart wanted to stay,

Yet I say, ‘Let’s go!’,

Even though with every step my heart shouted ‘no’,

And I hated you for obeying me so much,

You would never plead me to do something that I didn’t want to,

And this is why I hated more my lady like portrayal,

It hid my mischief and stayed in denial,

Of every wrong thing I wanted to do,

Or of every right thing that I wanted to do the wrong way,

Oh! It was just the beginning and I couldn’t let you in,

I had to be a lady,

Untouchable and desirable,

I loved the way you tried to steal few touches,

And used your eyes to cover your gentle brushes,

I would smile a bit and push away,

Even though,

Those few seconds of contact,

Left hundreds of butterflies in my stomach unpacked,

My mind would send a reminder,

You are a lady,

One who can never be wilder,

And you obeyed me so much,

That you walked back few inches,

So that even our hands couldn’t get glimpses,

But then I wanted you,

And I knew you wouldn’t do anything I didn’t want to,

So I walked closer,

So much so you couldn’t lift up your eyes,

I rubbed my palm against yours,

And I could feel your breath growing,

You were trying to find something on the empty roads,

Hiding your butterflies that came up to your eyes,

I laughed at your innocence and stopped in the middle,

‘What?’ and you stood there for a while,

Until I came walking to you,

& stood near your chest,

I could give away my life hundred times to hear those beats of your heart,

I didn’t touch you,

I didn’t hold you,

I stood on my toes and kissed your lips,

Gently I stood back on the ground,

Which took so much effort,

Those few micro seconds had lifted me up from the desert,

Calling my lady back into myself,

I walked away in the front,

Hiding my silly smiles and stealing glances at the sky,

While you came running to me all flushed,

And held my hand,

The lady inside me tried to push you away,

But my hand didn’t want to,

So I persisted,

May be, I am not myself with you,

I am someone I had always wanted to be,

Only with you.

One thought on “Lady Like

Leave a comment